New tank ideas, input please!

dwestwood18

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Firstly, Im new to fishlore, so HI! .

Ive already got a fairly established 70L aquarium, but am thinking about setting up my second 120L. Just need some advice on my choices of inhabitants .

Im thinking of 1x male betta (CT or HM)
2x clown loaches
1x corydoras OR 1x king tiger pleco.

but need some additional advice on any other suitable tankmates? need something to swim in the top 2/3's of the tank as iv got 3 on the bottom 1/3 as it is.

any help really appreciated!!!

Lucy

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Welcome to FishLore!!

I'm sorry but I think you should re-think your stocking.
Clown loaches get very large and shouldn't be in less than a 55 gallon, larger really if you want more than one. I'm pretty sure they're socialable.

Most bettas don't appreciate tank mates. Either they get aggressive or someone will pick at them. If you really want a betta, I'd suggest a 5 gallon tank by it's self.

So, that leaves you with the cory. lol I don't know enough about the pleco to comment.
Maybe think about a small school of cories, like 3 or 4 since they like company.
That would take care of the bottom.
Do you perhaps have any other fish in mind?

Heather M

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
I agree with Lucy. Maybe try some guppies and platies instead of the betta. They'll add color to your tank without the aggression issues. A clown or bristlenose pleco would be fine, but I don't know enough about other pleco species to know how much space they need. instead of the pleco, you could get a small school of otto cats. They are voracious algae eaters! Good luck!

Otto cat link: https://www.fishlore.com/profiles_otocinclus.htm

lea

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Hi, welcome to fishlore!