New tank - how many fish?

Becky

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here!  I've just bought a 43 litre (approx 10 gallon) tank and I'm currently on day 2 of my cycling.  I've just bought a master test kit for my water which I was going to start using in the next couple of days.  I don't plan on putting any fish in until my tank is completely ready but when I do I was wondering how many fish I could have? I only really wanted some neon tetras and maybe some danios but I don't want too many for my small tank.

Also, do I need an algae eater?  I know the plec is unsuitable cos of it's size but are there any other suitable, such as small catfish?

Many thanks for your help - any other tips much appreciated! 
Becky

Bonochick

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Welcome, Becky! As you already realize, you are kind of limited with just 10 gallons. The general rule of thumb is 1 gallon per 1 inch of ADULT fish, so it's advised that you research how long fish grow to be. If you check out the Fish Species link on Fishlore's main page, you can get all kinds of info. Zebra danios grow up to 2 inches and are best kept in schools of 6 or more. That puts you at 12 inches with just the danios. Neon tetras grow up to 1.5 inches and are also best kept in schools of 6 or more. That would put you at 9 inches.

Gwenz

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Hi! Glad your cycling your tank without fish - you fish will thank you!.  

As for how many fish you should go by 1" of adult fish per gallon, so if its a 10gall then you can have 10" of fish. Danios and Neons are shoaling fish so you'd need to get at least 4/5 each but then you'd be slightly overstocked. Maybe you could choose either the danios or the neons.  :-\ ??? If you wanted Neons you could maybe put 5 or 6 in there.

As for algae eaters otos are pretty good, im getting some soon for my tank. They stay pretty small too.

Hope this helps a little.

Gwenz

Bonochick

Well Known Member
Reaction score