New, need stocking advise

Mel207

Hi! I am new to this, and would like a little input from some experienced people. We have a 29 gallon cold water tank that we have some minnows, misquitofish, and danios in, but I just bought a 55 gallon and am setting up a tropical tank. I know we want a couple angelfish, so that is going in for sure. From what I understand, they like having some plants around, are there any you would suggest for a beginner? Also, would my danios be happier if I moved them from the cold water tank to the tropical tank? Their temperature range covers both, but I am not sure which is ideal for them. I also want some rainbowfish. So, what I am considering is: 2 angelfish, 5 rainbowfish, and maybe 6 danios depending on if they would be happier in the warmer tank. Also, any suggestions on a bottom feeder? I have gravel substrate that I put in before I realized that catfish prefer sand.

FinalFins

Welcome to Fishlore..

If you want multiple angels I suggest getting 5 over 2.. aggression in cichlids is usually from lack of conspecifics.

For easy plants I suggest getting vals, amazon swords, and hornwort. I personally have a tank full of vals and they are very easy to take care of.

I would not suggest mixing danios with angels. They like cooler waters.

Can you take a pic of the gravel?

Upvote 0

Mel207

Could I do one angel? I heard they get lonely, thats why I thought two. I don't want the whole tank full of angelfish, and if I get 5, there won't be room for the rainbowfish, will there? This is the substrate, typical aquarium gravel ans some river rocks and glass marbles thrown in.

Attachments

• 20200605_092313.jpg
    20200605_092313.jpg
    97.9 KB · Views: 29
Upvote 0

ProudPapa