new lighting questions

yallyall1

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Hi guys!

My lighting for my low-light simple planted tank has failed on me... one has blown out and has stopped working, so that leaves me with 8w which is clearly not enough!

I am hoping to get a 6700k bulb with somewhere between 12w and 24w (would I need co2?) and hopefully turn it into a medium-light planted tank!

any advice on the kelvin rating or wattage? I am a complete noob when It comes to lights, so please help!

BTW, They have to be 30cm T5's

mathas

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
yallyall1 said:
any advice on the kelvin rating or wattage? I am a complete noob when It comes to lights, so please help!

BTW, They have to be 30cm T5's
"Kelvin rating", to me, is rather unimportant. It will give you a good idea of what color the light should look to you, but will not give you any real indication of whether or not the light is any better or worse than similar bulbs as far as plant growth goes.

For wattage, match the bulb to your ballast. 30cm is shorter than the smallest T5 I've seen here in the States, so I'm not sure what the standard wattage for that length would be. If the ballast doesn't indicate what type of bulb it's designed to drive, I would stick with the same wattage as what you currently have. If you fail to match the bulb to the ballast, you dramatically increase the likelihood of a shortened lifespan of bulb or ballast or both; and in extreme cases, fire.

bass master

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
mathas said:
"Kelvin rating", to me, is rather unimportant. It will give you a good idea of what color the light should look to you, but will not give you any real indication of whether or not the light is any better or worse than similar bulbs as far as plant growth goes.