New Freshwater Tank, 20g Stocking Help, Baby Bn Pleco Help

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by Paper Spiders, Nov 8, 2018.

1. Paper Spiders

Paper SpidersValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +144
    Hi Everyone!

This is my first post, but I've been reading lots of threads up until this point. I once had a 10g freshwater tank about 6-7 years ago, but I am pretty new to the hobby. I have had some troubles, but I think I am on the right track. My question is about my albino BN pleco baby, and if I should replace him with a school (I'm thinking 6) oto cats. Please let me know if I have made any glaring mistakes.

Some background:
    This is a low tech, heavily planted 20 g long tank with anubias, crypts, swords and frog bit. Probably some other plants I am missing. There is a lot of driftwood, and the substrate is Fluval stratem. I have a heater, and two filters running on opposite sides: a Marineland Penguin 100 and an Aqueon Quietflow T15.

The tank has been set up for two weeks, at 80*F. The tank is cycled, I'm guessing. From what I tested this morning my PH is 7.4 - 7.6, my ammonia is 0, Nitrates are 0 and my nitrites are less than 10 ppm. I have been doing 10% water changes every day, since I figure it cant hurt and I use the water to water my plants. Again, this is a 20g long tank.

Current inhabitants: 2 ADF, who are very active and happy, 2 black Khuli loaches and 2 striped kulhi loaches, 1 tiny albino BN pleco and a couple shrimp. I know the loaches need more of their own kind to be happy, so I am planning on getting 2 more of each color, to make a community of 8.