New Fish & Tank Parameters! Advice Needed

ladybugntexas

HI all,

I am very new to salt water tanks. I have a 5 gallon that has about 2.5 lbs of liverock in it, as well as matrix biofiltration rocks and chemipure blue for nano tanks. The tank currently has two blue leg hermit crabs and I recently added a clown fish to the tank on Friday. So far, my fishy is doing really well aside from not eating much.
Due to him not eating the pellets I have dropped and needing to try and feed him again, I am really worried about an ammonia spike or something occurring.

So I was wondering, how often should I be checking my ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate levels to make sure he is safe? Also, should I be siphoning out the food he doesn’t eat every day to prevent a spike? And should I be concerned he isn’t eating much?

Thank you so much in advance!

Collin Chorba

Fish can survive without food for a long time, I’m more worried about how the clown fish will outgrow that tank fairly quickly if my knowledge is correct, in terms of water parameters, depends on how long the tank has been set up for, a tank that small is difficult to keep steady. I’m not very experienced with saltwater but I’m sure you could find a stocking more fitting for a 5 gallon

Also if he doesn’t eat within a week, try frozen foods and if he won’t eat that try live

Last edited by a moderator:

stella1979

Live rock should go a long way to cycling your tank, but it is not a lot of live rock compared to the bioload, so I would keep a very close eye on the cycle for the first few weeks. I'd probably test daily and have Prime onhand in case of low ammonia or nitrite levels and new water readily available for a change in case of a large spike.