New fish owner Question

1. tlcraig Initiate Member

Hello, I'm new to this and hope someone out there can help me. We have three tanks, a 40 gallon community tank a 30 gallon tank with African cichlids and catfish and a 1 gallon for sick fish and Quarrantine. My catfish have been calm the last couple of days, the tank was cleaned 6 days ago,my ph is at 6.8 (has been since the start) but one of my catfish (kitty) has a sore on his mouth. They all have been living together since the beginning of September and get along fine. I'm worried about him, I know I can't treat the water with quik cure,I learned that the hard way in my community tank when we got ich, I lost my catfish and my pleco. I've been looking up answers on the internet but I'm lost! Can anyone help me, I hate losing my fish.:(:(

2. Meenu Fishlore VIP Member

welcome to FL! could you possibly test the water and post the results/ A picture would also be helpful, along with information on how often you clean your tank and what conditioners you use.

I noticed you don't know about the nitrogen cycle. I suggest you read up on it here on FL - understanding the cycle is key to a thriving tank.

3. Aquarist Fishlore Legend Member

Hello TlCraig and Welcome to Fish Lore. Sorry to hear that your fish isn't feeling quiet up to par. Could it have injured itself on something?

Great link from Mommybaby for the nitrogen cycle. Too, as she stated a photo would be a great help if possible. If not if you can describe the sore spot...is it fuzzy, white patch?

Best of luck and keep us posted.
    Ken

4. tlcraig Initiate Member

New owner