New fish mom here :)

Katieeeelyn

Hi everyone! My name is Katie I have a semi-planted 10g with a platinum male betta (Oliver), a juli cory cat (Penelope), a black mystery snail (Leonard), 2 otto's (Dharma & Greg), an ivory mystery snail (Tiffany), and a few ghost shrimp. I'm still very new to this, I've only had my tank for about 5-ish months. I currently have some nasty algae in my tank, and my black mystery snail (Leonard) is not doing so well. He hasn't really moved in a little over a week. And I've found there's these clumps of like white fuzzy stuff that is stuck inside his shell. He sits partially open and when I touch him he closes. But I have to physically remove the white fuz every other day. Idk what it is. I took a video of me removing it. If anyone has any tips or can give me any advice, I would really appreciate it thanks guys!

Attachments

• 20210302_073340.jpg
    20210302_073340.jpg
    109.5 KB · Views: 18
  • 20210302_073734.gif
    20210302_073734.gif
    19.9 MB · Views: 29

JLAquatics

Hello, Katie. Welcome to Fishlore! Excess Algae growth is usually attributed to an imbalence of some kind in the water. You could have too much nutrients but not enough light (or vise versa) for plants to utilize those nutrients. I know that sunlight causes tremendous algae growth, so depending on what typr of plant you have, they might not be fast growing to compete with the algae in question. I know that an Anubias plant is not going to absorb as much nutrients as a Water Wisteria or Val. As for your snail, I have no idea what could be happening, especially if it is only effecting one of them and not the other. Hopefully someone else may be able to help out.

AggressiveAquatics

Welcome to fishlore! Is this tank cycled? Do you know what your water parameters are? And Cory cats are social fish and need to be in groups no less than 4.

fallfever