new fish for newbie

1. burntolive87 Initiate Member

so i just bought a 10 gallon tank complete with a decent filter (or so I'm told by a few people) and a heater and all that good stuff for tropical fish. now I'm just looking at fish to raise but there are a few things to consider: 1) as i am attending college id have to bring them with me and then bring them back so they need to be hardy fish i guess 2) I'm new at the complete control aspect of raising fish so i need fish that are good for people with some experience but not enough to b considered knowledgeable and 3) how many of these fish would you recommend

keep in mind i am a responsible person so even though ill b at school they will be taken care of.

2. EmptyH Initiate Member

I am also very new to raising fish and one thing that I have found very helpful is this article on the nitrogen cycle https://www.fishlore.com/Articles/TheNitrogenCycle.htm it should help answer some of your questions and keep your fish safe in your new tank. As to your other questions that is best left to others more knowledgeble than me to answer.

Good luck :)

3. Gunnie Well Known Member Member

Welcome to FishLore. It's great to have you with us! Here's a like with some great articles to get you started:

http://fishlore.com/Forum/index.php?topic=620.0

It's really important especially with a 10 gallon tank that it's cycled before you add a full bio load of fish. You could start with a betta and slowly cycle that way if you can't stand the idea of fishless cycling. It would take months this way, but at least there would be a fish in the tank. When you get ready to take the fish home, would you be travelling by auto or plane? Transporting them in the car is not that hard.

While your tank is cycling, you will have plenty of time to pick out what you want in your tank. You won't be able to have that many in a 10 gallon tank, but there are a lot of choices out there. ;)

4. 0morrokh Fishlore VIP Member