New Bolivian Rams - Questions About Quarantine, Damaged Fins - And Help Sexing Them

nikislash

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm relatively new to fish keeping, and these are my first cichlids.

I bought a group of 4 young bolivian rams this this morning. I'm hoping I can get a pair, then will rehome the other two. They're currently in a 10 gallon quarantine before being added to my main tank. I know it's a bit small, but will a tank this size be fine for a few weeks for quarantine? It's got a mature filter so I'm not worried about ammonia/nitrite, but I'm worried the floor space is just too small for them.

I noticed that they are all missing nicks out of their fins, and one, in particular, has a very ripped up pectoral fin (picture attached). I assume this is from nipping at the store. They were kept in a tank with female bettas, so those could have been the culprits, but I have also noticed them squabbling with each other. Is there anything specific I should be doing to help their fins heal?

Finally, the store tried to help select 2 male and 2 female, but mostly it seemed like they had no idea which is which. Can anyone help from these photos, or are they too young to be able to tell? (face looks distorted in one, but that's just because the corner of the tank is curved)

Thanks in advance - any advice is appreciated.

Attachments

kayla.s

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
OK unfortunately I'm not good sexing Bolivians, GBRs yes, but unfortunately not Bolivians. However I can tell you that all you need is clean water to fix those fins up. 4 rams in such a tight spaces is going to cause some aggression though. I would add lots of plants or something they can hide in

nikislash

Reaction score
kayla.s said: