New Blue Gourami

tnrsmomma

I have this gorgeous boy hangin out in my QT at the moment and I'm so excited! Feels like I've had to wait forever before the tank was finally ready for my "centerpiece" fish. The kids and I decided to name him Zeus. Pretty fitting for a silvery sky blue fish and who will presumably rule the tank. He is my first GouramI ever and I'm utterly enamoured. Lol He seems pretty confident so far and usually comes out to investigate anytime I am near the tank. If I make too sudden of a move he bolts, but always comes back. I'm not good at guessing size but I'd say hes about 2.5 inches from nose to tip of the tail. Seems healthy so far even although the corydoras I bought with him (who are in the same QT tank with him) are flashing and super jittery. At this point I treat almost all new fish automatically with Ich-X and General Cure. 3 days in and Zeus is still looking great so I am hopeful. The lfs I bought him from isn't the worst but it's not the best either so I'm crossing my fingers the corys pull through and Zeus doesn't catch it! Anyways, I don't have questions or anything, just wanted to share my excitement and, of course, pictures of my gorgeous boy.

jinjerJOSH22

Beautiful fish
Which tank is it going in?
One thing, I highly recommend keeping them in a group, they are social and when kept on their own can become very shy or very aggressive.

tnrsmomma

jinjerJOSH22 said:
Beautiful fish
Which tank is it going in?
One thing, I highly recommend keeping them in a group, they are social and when kept on their own can become very shy or very aggressive.
He'll go in the 29 for now, and I'll upgrade if it starts to seem too cramped as he grows. I'd like to turn the 29 into a 40 gallon breeder within the next year anyways.