New Betta Tank Water Quality Questions

Resolute

Reaction score
Hi all!
I am new to the hobby and this is my first ever set-up.
I have him in a 5 gallon heated tank with live plants and I used some Fluval Cycle to help jumpstart the cycling process. I have had the tank set up for 2 weeks and have had the betta in for 5 days now, today I tested the water and had the following readings:
Ammonia: 2.o ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrate: 20ppm
pH: 8.2

I did a 50% water change directly following the tests.

How do these water conditions look so far and how should I continue forward with my water changes?

Finally, at my house, we have well water with a water softener. I have been using water that bypasses the softener thus far but the pH reading is really high, I did a test of some of our softened water and the pH was exactly 7, should I keep using hard water or switch to the soft water?

Thanks a ton!

DutchAquarium

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Firstly, for the next time, make sure you cycle your aquarium first before you get fish. Ammonia at 2.0 is toxic and you should do a water change. Maybe infest in some ammonia detox. These chemicals aren't the best for the aquarium, but 2.o ammonia isn't either. As for the Ph. Don't worry about this. Ph only gets dangerous when levels begin going up and down. Just keep them stable. All my bettas including wild species are at a 7.6 ph and are doing fine and breeding.

ToCkSiC

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Fairly new myself but I'm pretty sure you don't ever want your water hitting 1ppm or more ammonia whilst fish are in the tank. Ammonia is highly toxic so keeping under 1ppm is something you should be striving for.