5 Gallon Tank New betta owner with a messed up cycle

PastelBetta25

Explain your emergency situation in detail. (Please give a clear explanation of what is going on, include details from the beginning of the illness leading up to now)
Hello, as the title says, I'm new to the hobby. I actually posted about this situation on the new member thread, so I'll try to keep it brief:

I got a betta after my mom got it as a prize from work (I don't know who thought this was a good idea but anyway). I upgraded my betta, Pastel, to a 5.5 gal after realizing a 1 gal tank is too small for a betta. I was still not too familiar with cycling -- I kind of assumed the old tank was cycled based off the fact that I had bacterial bloom/new tank syndrome for about 4 weeks, but it went away after I stopped changing the filter media every 2 weeks -- but figured a week of running the new tank with a pinch of fish food would "cycle" it. Either way, I added the polyfilter and water from the old tank, and things seemed to be going great! Until, I added marimo moss balls to the tank about 3 weeks back