New Betta, Need Advice

1. m

megz1994 Initiate Member

Hi guys! I'm new to the hobby of fish keeping but have been trying to research as much as possible to make sure I have everything in order to be successful.

My boyfriend and I went to a reptile expo in our area yesterday and a vendor was selling bettas. We didn't plan on bringing home a fish that day, but I found this sweet guy and he melted my heart. We think he is a crowntail, which are one of my weaknesses along with the halfmoons.

I just wanted to post a few pictures of him so you can see his condition and if you find anything I can't and help me along.

It looked like his gills were a little Inflamed because of being in a bag with still water for a day and a half, so we only stayed for
    an hour at best at the expo and booked it home after getting food for him and got him in the tank.

d7d8f90d32db218a77c3a03878d87e05.jpg

3eee52ed3c291acb52aff453cfe7735c.jpg

2. Cricket lynn mclean

Cricket lynn mclean Well Known Member Member

I suspect he will be doing much better in his new home. I have a 3 to 5 gallon filter for my betta tank. He loves it because it has a very slow trickle but keeps his water clean. I too have a weakness for crown tails :)

3. OP
    OP
    m

megz1994 Initiate Member

Lol mine too. I have the 5-15 gallon but I mastered the flow to where it is a slow trickle but still enough to cause surface agitation. He loves his leaf ledge to eat on and has a large hiding cave all to himself.

I also noticed this today, he isn't attracted to flakes or pellets. But when I get tongs, he follows them like mad. So we are making a special trip to get some frozen foods if not live and try that with him.

4. Cricket lynn mclean

Can you add some aquarium salt to his tank? I would use the prescribed dose on the salt container. Also got a heater yes?

5. OP
    OP
    m

megz1994 Initiate Member