New beginner w/5 gal freshwater betta aquarium Help

1. Lovebug903 Member Member

???OK here's my story...im new to fishlore, bettas, and aquariums lol...I was given a betta b/c he had no home and naturally just put him in a 1 gal tank(no filter, etc). Then i started looking things up and realized it was way more than i expected. But i developed a new passion. So i have purchased a 5 gallon tank, which currently has just gravel, a whisper internal filter, a 50 watt heater(and the temp is stable at 78), a hideaway cave for him, and i filled the tank with room temp bottled water(will convert to tap) and conditioned it w/aquasafe(switching to prime). I put a live java fern in the 1 gal he is in now b/c i have no filter in that(doing 100% water changes every 3 or so days)..now i did like 9 hours of research and have been weighing out my options on this whole cycling thing. I let the guy at the petstore convince me into cycling with the help of 3 zebra danios(which i wont be keeping all 4 fish in that 5 gal-too crowded) and established bacteria from his existing tank(gravel or some sort). My 5 gal has been set up for 3-4 days now and the danios are going on their 2nd day. My amm is still at 0, my nitrates and nitrites are at 0, but my ph is 7.6. Im debating on pulling the danios out and doing the fishless, and i dont want to put my betta in until i know it is completely safe for him. Please help me. Im a lost newbie lol. Sorry this thread is so long. I just wanted to paint a better picture.

2. Lucy Moderator Moderator Member

Hi welcome to FishLore :)
    This is what I would do, maybe others would do differently.
    Since you seeded the tank, I'd return the danios and add your betta.
    Keep a close eye on the water parameters, but really you should have almost an instant cycle.
    Do you have any nitrate reading?

3. Shawnie Fishlore Legend Member

welcome to fishlore!!