New Babies! Question

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish and Invertebrates' started by riptide904, Dec 9, 2012.

1. riptide904Valued MemberMember

I didn't think my molly was actually pregnant, but I walked but the tank today and saw a little fish against the glass. I think I may have screamed, it was such a shock, and I thought it was dead. I grabbed a net and scooped out whatever I saw, but I know a lot were probably eaten by the other fish (The guppies looked suspiciously pudgy for so long after feeding time). I now have 14 black molly fry in a fry net, and they can't be more than a few hours old. It's my first time raising lots of fry, I have some questions, if anyone can help me...
    • Is it normal for some to lay at the bottom of the net for a while? About half are swimming around but the others lay on net, moving just enough to go to the other side.
    • I squished up some fish flakes and threw them in, but most didn't seem to be interested. How long until they eat?
    • Should I buy fry food? I'm short on cash and I don't want to be buying anything extra if I can just feed them powdered flakes. If so, what should I buy?
    • How early can I expect to tell male from female? At what point should I separate them?

I'll probably keep one or two females, I'm giving a few to my cousin and some kids across the street in a few weeks. I'd rather not have any more surprises!

2. plecodragonWell Known MemberMember

Congrats on the babies.
    Just so you know your female mollie is still pregnant and will most likely have more babies in 28-35 days. Females can store sperm for up to 6 months, so even if you don't have a male and bought it from a pet store it is most likely pregnant and will be giving you many more surprises.
    You can feed the fry crushed/powdered flake food.