new aquarium problem!

chrissie1993

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi everybody.

I set a new tank up about 3 days ago (I am new to the aquarium hobby).
I bought myself a siamese fighting fish and also a guppy (against advice that they should be kept apart but they generally ignored each other).
The tank was clear all day yesterday, but when i saw it again today, it was quite cloudy.
Unfortunately, my guppy died suddenly, one minute it was swimming around very actively, the next it was upside down dead any ideas on what may have caused this sudden death?
Now, all i have left is my fighting fish who seems to be very slow compared to yesterday and is simply lying down on the bottom of the tank rather than swimming around as it did yesterday. Does anybody know why my fish is acting this way?
Thankyou

Lucy

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Hi chrissie welcome to FishLore
I'm really sorry about your fish.
Guppies and bettas don't make good tanks mates. Either the guppy or betta can be aggressive towards each other. Bettas normally do better by themselves especially in your size tank.

However, since your betta isn't doing well, the first thing to check is your water parameters.
Is the tank cycled?
What are the readings for ammonia, nitrite and nitrates?

Goldwing_Don

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Welcome to fishlore chrissie1993
sorry for your loss.
what kind of filter and hearter do you have in your tank?

Kunsthure

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Welcome to Fish Lore!

I'm sorry about your guppy! If your tank was set up just three days ago I get the feeling that it isn't cycled. The sudden death, the current condition of the betta and the cloudy water also lead me to believe that it isn't cycled. Most likely the guppy died from ammonia poisoning and the betta is suffering it.