New Aquarium: Cycle Help

Curtis96

This is my first time cycling an aquarium and am looking for some advice.

I have a 125 liter planted tank with rocks and driftwood and used some gravel from an established tank to seed the filter. I am currently on day 26 of cycling, as of day 15 I have been adding 2ppm of ammonia (using Dr Tim's) daily which my tank reduces to 0 in 24 hours. My nitrites and nitrates have been steadily increasing until day 19 when they were both reading off the charts (8ppm+ nitrite, 80ppm+ nitrate) and remained at this level. Yesterday (day 25) I did 2 80% water changes reducing my nitrites to 0.5ppm and nitrates to 10ppm and added another dose of ammonia. Today the ammonia is gone, the nitrites are somewhere between 2-4ppm and the nitrates are 80+ again.

Does anybody have any insight into what is happening , is my cycle stalled? should I stop dosing ammonia? Any advice is appreciated!

mattgirl

I have a 125 liter planted tank with rocks and driftwood and used some gravel from an established tank to seed the filter. I am currently on day 26 of cycling, as of day 15 I have been adding 2ppm of ammonia (using Dr Tim's) daily which my tank reduces to 0 in 24 hours. My nitrites and nitrates have been steadily increasing until day 19 when they were both reading off the charts (8ppm+ nitrite, 80ppm+ nitrate) and remained at this level. Yesterday (day 25) I did 2 80% water changes reducing my nitrites to 0.5ppm and nitrates to 10ppm and added another dose of ammonia. Today the ammonia is gone, the nitrites are somewhere between 2-4ppm and the nitrates are 80+ again.

Does anybody have any insight into what is happening , is my cycle stalled? should I stop dosing ammonia? Any advice is appreciated!
Welcome to Fishlore :)