New and Inexperienced with a Sick Betta Important 

SparkyShark43

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Hello, I'm SparkyShark43,

As of a few nights ago, I'm now the proud mother of a (probably) male betta fish! It all happened so fast I didn't even have the proper supplies to care for him. The thing is, I've only ever cared for goldfish so I'm new to the whole ordeal.

Here's a little information about my fish:
Finn was unwanted by his last owner, so I took him in. Unfortunately, his first owner had him for about a month and never changed his tank water. His small, 1 gallon, tank had no filter which helped the water become rancid (it smelled like a sewer). I brought him home and got him into a new tank as fast as I could (I know you're supposed to let things set before slowly introducing a new fish, but the tank was that bad). I used betta conditioner to get the tank ready as soon as possible. However, I soon noticed his lethargic behavior, and noted how his fins were falling off in chunks. He also refused to eat even when I offered him bloodworms! I took to Google and went crazy trying to research everything I could. I diagnosed him with fin rot after extensive research, and I undertook many trips to my local pet stores to ensure I had the right equipment and medication. I started off with Betafix, but eventually started using Melafix after he lost the top half of his dorsal fin. After four days of medication, he's started to explore his tank, zip around, and eat! His fins have also begun to grow back. However, I noticed that he might be missing a few scales around his face and part of his back, so I'm still worried the infection may have already reached his body.

Remember, I'm new at caring for bettas, so advice of ANY kind is greatly appreciated.

FinalFins

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Hi! Welcome.

Cheers to you for saving him.

How big is the new tank? Is it filtered and heated?

Can you get a test kit? For ammonia, nitrite and nitrate.