New 55g tank ideas

Discussion in 'Aquarium Aquascaping' started by AlanGreene, Dec 6, 2012.

1. A

AlanGreene Well Known Member Member

Hi guys! :;hi1

I got my first tank (95Liter or 25Gallon) about 3 months ago and I have caught the fish keeping bug! and so I am getting a 63gallon (or 240Liter) upgrade delivered tomorrow. I want to do a half planted (dwarf hair grass) and half silica sand mix.

I have never done a planted tank before so I am looking for any pointers such as:

What soil do I use?
    What nutrients do I put under the soil if any?
    Do I cover the soil in silica sand and then plant or leave the soil bare and plant and put no sand over it?

I wish to create a hill with a connecting cave in it from the main frontal sandy area to 2 smaller sandy areas at the back of the tank, I will upload a photo of a (badly drawn!) plan for the tank so people know what I am talking about as it is hard to explain!
    I am wondering what I could use to create a tunnel under the grass giving the effect also of a hill, that would not effect the water chemistry? I will want a slightly acidic PH for the type of fish stock I want for this tank. I think one of the fish lore members Matt B (Hi Matt!!) used a terracotta plant pot, could I use a similar type of thing in the shape of a pipe to get my underground connecting caves?
    I was going to use stones to separate the sand from the grass, is this a good idea? I was thinking it would create some good hiding spots for shrimp, could any one please give me advice on what stones would be safe to use that aren't too expensive?

I will have two T8 36w lights, is this okay for the dwarf hair grass?

I am also unsure if I need to add CO2 to the water:;dk from the research I have done I have come to the opinion that the fish and bacteria will provide enough CO2 for the carpet grass and this is not necessary but I am no expert so would love a more detailed explanation!