New 4ft tank, fishless cycle?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle' started by Rmachines, Mar 26, 2010.

1. RmachinesNew MemberMember

Hi all, i have just upgraded my tank, i now have a 4ft tank, this has been set up in my new house with no fish in it, i squeezed out some of the muck from the filter hoping it would start off the ammonia cycle, But im totally new to this, i have a comprehensive testing kit, but i dont really know much about the "fishless cycle" How do i get it started, i would like to get it going before i put fish into it, i made that mistake last time. The tank was fully established before so the substrate should have some goodness in it.

Is there any tips and tricks to get the cycle up and running before i risk putting fish into it? as when i move out of this house and into the new one i will have to introduce my fish from my smaller tank into this one, Should i maybe take some water from my water changes in my established tank and put it into the new one?

Cheers.

2. Prince Powder

Prince PowderWell Known MemberMember

3. jdhef

jdhefModeratorModerator Member

I'm not sure how much benificial bacteria actually gets into the tank when you squeeze it like that, but any bacteria that does needs an ammonia source or it will starve off.

You can use pure ammonia (meaning ammonia with no additives such as detergent, surficants etc), or you could put a piece of raw shrimp in the tank which will release ammonia as it decomposes.

Also, if the old tank is up and running with fish in it, and you plan on transfering the fish out of the old tank, you could just put your old filter on the new tank (along with the new filter) and have an instant cycle. Then after a few weeks when the new filter has developed a bacteria colony you could remove the old filter.

Good Luck!

4. jdhef

jdhefModeratorModerator Member

I know I'm in trouble when my reply is much longer than someone who's signature says something about rambling on and on and on...:;laughing