New 45 Gal - Best Community Fish?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by Asousa, Jun 18, 2018.

1. A

Asousa New Member Member

Hi! I am somewhat new to the hobby. I have always had small tanks but nothing too "complicated." I just purchased a 45 gallon tank. Currently i just have rocks placed. My Molly and Betta are in another tank awaiting their new home. I have been told contradicting things in regards to the cycling period for this size - 1 week and 4 to 6 wks. What is the average time to cycle for a tank this size? How long must I wait between introducing new fish? Most importantly, what fish would you recommend? I was thinking 2 types of schooling fish but again, im a beginner!

2. Mom2some

Mom2some Well Known Member Member

Welcome to Fishlore!
    Sounds like a fun change for you! Cycling will take as low by as it takes - you are cycled when you have 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites and >5 nitrates. Do you plan to do a fish-in or fishless cycle? Does your old tank you could transfer the filter media over from? One option would be to move your older filter media to your new filter & move the fish. Is your plan to have the betta in the community tank? That will affect your stocking (no fin nippers). Also - bettas are such individuals that some people have success with a betta in a community tank & other people come home to a murder scene.

3. Smalltownfishfriend

Smalltownfishfriend Well Known Member Member

Corydoras are my favorite community fish.. fun colors lot of personality!!!:)

4. OP
    OP
    A

Asousa New Member Member