New 38 Gallon - Help With Stocking Plan

FishyMishy

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Hello, I’m new to the hobby and getting my 38 gallon set up. I have a Marineland 38 gallon bowfront kit so it came with a Penguin Bio-wheel 200 filter, a heater and LED lights. I’m trying to keep it simple, so artificial plants for now.

The tank is set up and cycling, I’m now planning on what fish to get.

I’m debating on a centerpriece of a Angelfish or a Dwarf Gourami in a community tank. I’m a bit apprehensive about both as I understand Anglefish may eat smaller fish and Dwarf Gouramis can be susceptible to disease.

At this time I’m trying to come up with a plan for the community, I’m thinking:

6 Cardinal Tetras
6 Cory Catfish
Another school?
Mystery snail (should I get more than one?)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

emmysjj

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
I say, if you can find a healthy DG, do this:
1 DG
10 Cardinal Tetras
8 Cories (what species?)
You can get a few snails, do you want them to breed?

FishyMishy

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
emmysjj said:
You can get a few snails, do you want them to breed?
Not necessarily, I don’t want to be overrun with snails.

For the Cories, maybe Panda Cories.

Should I add another school for some more variety?

emmysjj

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
The mystery's will breed and you can just throw the clutch away, if you don't want them.

I thought you had a 28 gallon. Oops! What other schools are you interested in?

FishyMishy

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
emmysjj said:
The mystery's will breed and you can just throw the clutch away, if you don't want them.

I thought you had a 28 gallon. Oops! What other schools are you interested in?
Not sure on the other schools, there are just so many intetesting fish out there. I’d be open to suggestions.

FishyMishy

Reaction score
Experience
1 year