New 30 gallon and first planted tank

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by Jon25, Dec 23, 2012.

1. Jon25

Jon25 Valued Member Member

I got a new 30 gallon tank for Christmas and want to try a planted aquarium. I ordered some Eco complete substrate for it. But don't know much about planting or what else is needed. Any advice on what would be good for a beginner?

2. klogue2

klogue2 Valued Member Member

Hi! I'm a newbie planter myself :) but I'll share with you what I've learned so far!

You'll need a good light fixture, preferably T5 or T5HO(high output). T5HO being best from what I've researched. These aren't cheap but I got mine for $50, it's a coralife aqua light T5 fixture and I was told the stock bulbs it comes with would grow low-moderate light plants.

Depending on how much light you use you'll possibly need CO2. The more light you have, the faster your plants will grow, however that also means the more nutrients they need to grow. You can do liquid CO2 or you could use a CO2 system.
    (this paragraph may be incorrect, I believe I got the gist of it though but wait for another member to verify! :))

Your substrate (Eco complete) has nutrients and fertilizers in it so I don't think you need any other supplements necessarily.

Some good starter plants are crypts, Anubias, java moss and java fern, ludwigia, water wisteria, and more! You can always ask if there's a certain plant you'd like whether it would be suitable for your aquarium.

That's all I can think of for now, good luck!

3. fishaddiction

fishaddiction Valued Member Member

Swords are good but need good lighting.

4. A

AlyeskaGirl Fishlore VIP Member

What plants you want to keep depends on your lighting. What is your lighting? T8, T12, LED etc.