New 10 Gallon Tank Questions from a beginner.

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Zepplin22, Jan 3, 2013.

1. Zepplin22New MemberMember

Hello Fishlore community!

I am a beginner at having an aquarium set up and had a few questions for all members. I have been frequenting the forum for a while and it has been helping me set up this tank and felt that I had to make an account to continue this experience. All input is welcome and I appreciate everybody who takes their time to give me a helping hand.

I will begin with my set up and can take pictures if necessary if it helps.

As of right now I have

-A 10 gallon tank
    -A heater set at 76 degrees Fahrenheit
    -An Aqueon filter set for a 10 to 20 gallon tank that cycles water at 100 gallons per hour
    -A neon light fixture along with the top for the tank
    -A PH of 7.2
    -0 nitrites
    -acceptable ammonia i believe its 0 or around that range
    -the tank is cycled to the best of my knowledge and from what I've read here and everywhere else about the nitrogen cycle (been going on for about a month now before i have added fish) I did take samples of the water to a local Pet Co. and had the water tested.
    -The hardness is relatively soft
    - I have 2 plastic plant fixtures in the water
    - I have 1 rock formation in the water
    - This is a fresh water tank

My community:

3 Neon Tetras
    2 Black mollies
    1 Catfish that I can't remember the name of for the life of me

As far as I know my tank holds 8 gallons of water and the fish sizes for when they are grown should be acceptable for the amount of water I have in the tank.

Now for my questions, and any answers would help me a ton and are welcome.

1. Do I need an air pump?
    2. How often should I clean Gravel?
    3. I have tropical fish flakes and freeze dried food as well, how often should I feed the fish, and what quantity should i feed them?