Nerite Snail Caught In The Act! 60 Gallon Tank

1. Jckronk76 Initiate Member

I'm new to snails have been noticing these little white clusters popping up on the glass the last week. I suspected they were snail eggs but here's the proof.
    [​IMG]

What's interesting is I was told that these guys couldn't hatch in fresh water but I've actually seen a couple little guys crawling around.

2. KinsKicks Well Known Member Member

Hello!

Lol...looks like eggs! Technically, nerites do drop eggs in FW, but they won't hatch without the salinity...so there's nothing to worry about. By then, either the other fish will eat them or you can just scrape them off.

Maybe the little guys you've been seeing are another type of snail? Maybe pond/bladder (or pest snail in general) snails?

Hope this helps and best of luck!

3. GabeC Member Member

As mentioned above, nerites won't hatch in freshwater. I'd also agree that the small snails you see are pond snails. They usually hitchhike on any(every) live plant you buy.

4. Jckronk76 Initiate Member

Just found one of the little guys, bladder snail I think?

[​IMG][​IMG]

5. Yves Member Member

Personally I had four Nerite snails in my tank when I first set it up, when I find the females I remove them, those eggs will cover everything eventually.

6. sfsamm Well Known Member Member

Bladder snails for sure. I intentionally raise them to feed a colony of breeding assassins. They are extremely prolific and if you are not very very careful they WILL infest your tank. I recommend deciding on how you would prefer to eradicate them now. That snail is old enough and likely already has bred in your tank. Their offspring are extremely tiny like a grain of fine sand and are capable of breeding by the time you can easily see them in your tank.