Neon tetras with mystery disease, don't want to infect my whole tank! Help 

lea

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Hello

I'm new to fishlore and it seems a great site for getting help!

I have a ~9 gal freshwater tank with 1xbetta, 6x White Clouds, a snail and % x neon tetras. I've had it set up for 2 years without many problems and do weekly 1/4 water changes with a siphon and treat with 1teaspoon of aquarium salt per 10L (1tsp per ~2.5 gal) along with the usual water ager which includes a stress reducer and slimecoat additive.

All my fish are super healthy bar my neons, which constantly seem to get sick with what appears to be columnaris (mouth fungus). My 5 current neons (and all i've previously kept), seem to eventually develop small grey/whitish mouth disfigurement along with minor ragged edges to the fins (also with a little tip of white, but very hard to see). Some also have a faint patchy look on the sides of their bodies but it is not a typical white and fluffy look i;ve seem online usually associated with fungus or columnaris. There are not spots or dust like ich or velvet, so i'm sure it is neither of these.

My neons also are acting like nothing is wrong, swimming and feeding actively. Once this condition develops it doesn't seem to progress either, and my reading on columnaris suggests that they would be dead in a few days if otherwise left untreated.

I tried treating with wardleys antifungus (conts malachite green, acriflavine, formaldehyde) for over 2 and 1/2 months and no change. I;ve also tried melafix & pimfix, but no avail. I don't want to constantly medicate my fish tank and am worried using malachite green for long periods for the sake of my new mystery snail (who's been in there only a few weeks).

Any ideas?? I don't want anything contagious in my tank as I love my fish (esp my Betta), as does my 3yr old daughter who would be very distraught if the betta got sick/died!!

Many thanks!!!

Kunsthure

Well Known Member