Neon Tetras & Bettas!! HELP!!

1. nap83 Initiate Member

2 of my Neon Tetras got caught in my power filter, which totally sucks... what step should i do to prevent this (filter or just the fish' carelesness??)?

another thing is that my Danios nipped the fins out of my Betta, he's in his won tank now but will HE EVER GROW BACK HIS FINS?

i'm a newbie so i need help.. thanks!

2. Butterfly Moderator Moderator Member

The bettas fins should grow back but watch him close for an infection. I don't know how the neons got caught in the filter, but to prevent it in the future you could cover the uptake tube with a sponge or even a piece if panty hose. Let us know how they are.
    Carol

3. Isabella Fishlore VIP Member

Nap83, I really think a 10 gallon tank is too small for 20 fish. Fights among different fish are inevitable in a small and crowded tank, I believe. It's not good if you want to keep all of them in there for a long time. Either a larger tank or giving some of the fish back to the store would be the solution. Or, like I said in the previous post, carefully monitor the water and perform the necessary water changes which need to be more frequent with a lot of fish in a small tank. Plus, the tank needs to be cycled first. I know you wouldn't want to give your fish back. That is one of the things I would never want to do myself! I'm sorry and wish you lots of luck.

4. nap83 Initiate Member

thanks isabella. i've already put the betta in a new tank along with all the ghost shrimp & a snail & he's doing good.

i also notice the territoriality and playfulness of fish so i created hiding places & little homes for them while i "desperate" cycle. wish them luck!

5. Durbkat Member Member