Neon Bully? White Cloud Stuck To Cardinal Tetra!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Neon lights

Reaction score
Bully? I’m brand new to fish ownership. I’ve cycled my tank and added 4 tetras. At the advice of the salesperson, my kids picked out 2 neon tetras and 2 cardinal tetras. 36 hours later, the fish look like they have settled in, but one of the neons (smaller than the other fish) seems to be turning into quite the bully. He is rushing at the cardinals and nipping them and then chasing after them when they swim off. Now, instead of hanging out in their pack of 4, they seem to be more spread out, with one or other of the cardinals spending time off alone. Is this just a normal relational reaction to suddenly being in a new environment with new cousins? Was it a mistake to get 2 of each? Do I send the bully to another home? Do I send the cardinals away and replace them with two more neons? The cardinals also seem to have white fluff (3 dimensional) on their sides. One patch each. Is this fungal? Or an owie from the bully? What to do???

Attachments

TexasDomer

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
They're likely stressed - each species should be in larger groups of their own species (they won't school together), and the species also aren't temperature compatible.

What size tank is this?

Do you know about the nitrogen cycle?

I wouldn't get stocking advice from your fish store employees. They often don't know, and are just trying to sell you fish.

The white fuzz could be a bacterial or fungal infection, but you may be able to make it go away without meds.

Neon lights

Reaction score
I’d considered that perhaps she wasn’t the best source of advice. It’s a 3 gallon tank, and I used the Fluval cycle along with the water treatment. Should I remove the cardinals and replace them with two neons? Or let them sort things out for themselves? Or start all over...

Neon lights

Reaction score