need suggestions on tank mates

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by kaitlin4599, Jul 28, 2015.

1. k

kaitlin4599 Valued Member Member

ok so i have a 10 gallon tank its still in the process of cycling but i need to start deciding on what type of fish to put in my tank and im clueless im thinking tetras and maybe a rainbow shark do u guys have any suggestions oh and tank will be planted and haver a decent heater id prefer tetras rainbow sharks maybe mollies not sure tho what do u recomend as far as fish go for a total noob whos new to the hobby

EDIT would prefer fish that like to eat the same type of fish food as i dont want to have to buy several different types of food meaning if all of the fish eat standard flakes and blood worms great but i dont really want fish ion my tank that require different diets

im open to neon tetras or tetras in general as i love there colors and i love schooling fish

Last edited: Jul 28, 2015
  2. yasha

yasha Well Known Member Member

Rainbow Shark wouldn't fit in a 10 gallon for very long and would most likely eat the smaller fish.

Mollies normally like a little salt in there water so wouldn't do well with most other fish.

If you like livebearers go with guppies or platy however best to get one gender or you will end up with a lot of babies. Both have a lot of different colors and fin types.

There's a lot of small Community fish that would work out well. Neon Tetras are my favorite as they school really tight. You would want a group of any schooling fish. 6 Neon Tetras and 6 small cory like pygmy cory would work well however I'm not so sure that's staying to 1 type of food and cory do best on sand.

I'd just go with a nice group of Neon Tetras. Maybe 6 Neon Tetras and 6 Black Neon Tetras if you want more then one type of fish to look at.
    You could also go with the 6-8 Neon Tetras and 1 Dwarf Gourami if you want a center piece fish.

You could have a small group of shrimp with your Tetra.