Need Some Ideas On How To Raise Kh And Gh Without Raising Ph To High

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Dragonnette, Sep 16, 2018.

1. Dragonnette

DragonnetteNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, I am new to the hobby and found this forum to be very helpful in my research.
    A little info about my tank,
    It's a beautiful 75 gallon tank that someone gave to me. I had a hard time with the old tank syndrome after moving it but I think I got it sorted out with lots of water changes.
    It has 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, between 20 to 30 nitrates (was off the chart after the move) ph is 6.8 and I got super soft water almost non existant kh and gh. Ph use to be super low so I added crushed coral to the filter about 2 weeks ago. It slowly raised it to almost 7 but my kh and gh are still almost non existant. I don't really want the ph to go much more then 7 so Im not sure adding more crushed coral is a good idea. Anyone knows how to raise kh and gh without raising ph any further? I do around 30% water change once every 5 to 7 days. The tank came with 1 pleco and an iridescent shark thats about 7-8 inches (that I want to rehome because he needs a bigger home) and there is 5 baby Angel's.
    Any ideas would be appreciated.

2. NavyChief20

NavyChief20Well Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +961
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    What is your tap water pH

3. OP
    OP
    Dragonnette

Ratings:
    +0
    Tap water has a ph of 7

4. NavyChief20

Ratings:
    +961
    Experience:
    More than 10 years