Need Some Advice Question

Discussion in 'Saltwater Beginners' started by CaptainAquatics, Aug 12, 2019.

1. CaptainAquatics

CaptainAquaticsWell Known MemberMember

Hi! So I have been keeping fish for 3 years, however I have never done a saltwater tank, however I know much is the same just a different process. I know it will need to cycle and I will have to do water changes, I’m just a complete noob to most things saltwater so I have some questions.
    1. I am hoping to make my 32 gallon biocube aquarium saltwater in a little bit and I have a few ideas. Biocube don’t need wave makers right? They are built for saltwater I know that but what advise do you have. What stuff will I need to get for it?
    2. I REALLY want to make it a FOWLR tank and I want to have a fuzzy dwarf lionfish in there and maybe a saddled Valentini puffer, would that work?
    3. Any other general advise?

EDIT: Also I would really like a starfish? Any that would work with them?

EDIT AGAIN: I also think arrow crabs are cool....

Last edited: Aug 12, 2019
  2. Thedudeiam94

Thedudeiam94Well Known MemberMember

Following along because I’m working toward a 20 gal long sw also! But If im not mistaken those fish would need a larger tank such as 50 gal+

3. e_watson09

e_watson09Well Known MemberMember

The biggest thing with saltwater is bigger is easier. Those fish you posted need larger tanks and the puffer will not do well with inverts. (Trust me learned that the hard way when my puffer ate a invert through a bag I was floating in the tank)

A big issue you'll run into is a fuzzy dwarf lion probably could go in that tank but that's probably all you could have. Anything small enough for that size tank would get eaten by him, anything too large to eat would be too big for the tank. Saltwater fish need a LOT more space than freshwater

I also wanted to add, in tanks about that size people commonly keep a reef style set up with inverts and maybe a pair of clownfish. Maybe another micro fish or so.