Help Need info, using media from a cycled tank to speed up new tank’s cycle

swimmingslowly

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
So I made a rookie mistake. I’ve been seeing how using media from a cycled tank can help to speed up a new tank’s cycle. My friend has a 20 g tank so I took some gravel, put it in cheesecloth and placed it in my filter.

I was curious so right after that I tested the water that came with the gravel. Nitrates were 20, nitrites were 0 and then I tested the ammonia which was around 4 ppm. I’m new to fish keeping but I’d guess this means his tank is not cycled. However, I have a 5 gallon tank so is it possible the bb would be able to work for my small bio load? I have 1 Betta in my tank.

I took the gravel out immediately, should I just toss it?

Pfrozen

Well Known
Reaction score
Lol ah man. That won't do much for you I'm afraid. It looks like your friend has a colony of bacteria but not nearly enough. He could have overstocked his tank way too much maybe, who knows. Imo you're better off pouring Tetra SafeStart directly into your filter and then doing the same thing daily with SeaChem Stability. Either add a fish or chuck some food in there every now and then. It sucks but that's the likely answer

OP
swimmingslowly

swimmingslowly

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Thanks! I have imagitarium biological booster which I’ve been dosing periodically and just doing water changes. I think I’ll just stick to that

OP
swimmingslowly

swimmingslowly

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
DoubleDutch said:
Aks your friend for.some.emdia from his filter. That will help.
It’ll still help even though his tank isn’t cycled? I just got nervous that it would harm my tank.

I still have the gravel in a container, how long does it take for the bb to die off?

DoubleDutch

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
swimmingslowly said:
It’ll still help even though his tank isn’t cycled? I just got nervous that it would harm my tank.