Need ideas on what fish to get

1. Tumeria33 Initiate Member

???
    I have a 20 gallon marlineland half moon aquarium. I am currently cycling the tank now (fishless cycle). I am a beginner and need advise. At first I wanted an angel fish but thanks to all of you here on the forum I now realize that my tank is just too small. I really like interesting and colorful fish so I was thinking of going with mollies and platies. Doing some research I now know that they love to breed, breed, breed. I don't want to breed- I just want a nice aquarium that I can enjoy, relax and watch. I thought of getting all females but then read they actually store the sperm and can produce fry without a male for several months. I would think that having all males would frustrate them and cause fighting. I am looking for ANY help or recommendations on what to get. I do like Gouramis and as I said I like colorful fish (why I was attracted to Platys and Mollies) NO NEON TETRAS PLEASE!!!! I just don't like them for some reason. I love how some of you list your tanks and what you have in them. Could you give me some ideas like that? Thanks!!! Very much appreciate any advise.

2. JoannaB Well Known Member Member

They sell male guppies separately from female ones in the stores that I have seen, and I have read that you can keep just male guppies. I wonder whether one can get only male mollies or only male platies? Anyway, guppies are nice and colorful, too (and they also breed like crazy unless one gets only males).