need help

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by bigones1993, Jan 11, 2013.

1. bigones1993New MemberMember

ok so i have a 55 gallon semi aggressive tank but my fish are dying due to being definned i have 6 tiger barb who i feel my be the problem and also 5 mosquito fish who i caught at a local lake so far i have lost 2 clown loach and almost one bala i had to transfer him to a hospital tank today because his tail had been nipped badly i also have 3 blue ram cichlad and a small bull head catfish i feel like the cat fish could have killed the clown loach but not the bala the cat is too slow i need help heres a list of all the fish BEFORE the i lost the clowns and moved the bala 6 tiger barb 5 mosquito fish 3 blue ram cichlad 2 clown loach 2 bala shark 2 cory catfish 1 sail fin pleco 1 spotted pleco 1 zebra danio 1 red tail shark 1 bull head catfish i need some advice what should i do how should i figure out which fish to blame somebody help im still a newbie and not too ashamed to learn i am eager to learn and not lose any more fish i loved those clown loach

on top of that i was always told clown loaches get along well with tiger barbs should i buy more tigers? by the way i seperated the mosquito fish into another tank to hopefully find out who is responsible

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 11, 2013
  2. AmazonPassionModeratorModerator Member

Welcome to Fishlore....

Before you do anything else, I would suggest reading up on the Nitrogen Cycle since your profile states that you don't know it. I'm "suspecting" that your fish are dying because of ammonia poison and not because of the other fish in the tank. However, I am just speculating because I do not know your water parameters.

I would read this link first: https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm

Then I would do additional more readings: https://www.fishlore.com/fishforum/...rst-freshwater-beginner-important-topics.html