Need Help With Rescue Goldfish Please! Help

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Volcanomom, Apr 18, 2018.

1. V

Volcanomom New Member Member

Hi everyone. I'm a new freshwater person, sort of by accident. I am a science teacher and I rescued a goldfish (4" common) from being dissected in a different grade level. When I found him, he was in a bag with another of the same size that was already dead. Being thrown into fish ownership, I had no time to cycle the tank before putting him in it. He was in a rubbermaid shoebox for 24 hours while I went and got filter, air pump, gravel, etc. He is in a 20 gallon tank (buying a 40 gallon breeder this weekend) treated with Prime. I've been doing aproximately 90% water changes every day and testing with API Master Freshwater kit. Ammonia is hovering between .5 and 1 ppm total and .05 ppm free ammonia (based on Seachem in tank alert thingy). Nitrites .25 - .5 and Nitrates staying at about 5 ppm. Tank is on day 19 of cycling. Poor thing (His name is Lazarus because we thought he was dead at first) has what I think are ammonia burns on nose and fins and hasn't been eating at all. This morning I got to school and he is having these little spasms about every 10 seconds. Nose against the glass and just...twitching. I have gotten SO attached to him and have been trying to do anything I know to keep him alive and happy. Any idea on what the twitching might be and what else I can do that I'm not already doing?? Thank you in advance.

2. lilabug4545

lilabug4545 Well Known Member Member

It's possible that he was sleeping and then woken up. Please note that common goldfish get huge and need a pond to live out their lives completely. Their skeleton will grow to the size of the tank, but their organs will continue to grow until they get squished against the bones and fail. I would get him as big of a tank as possible.

3. T

Tank Girl Valued Member Member