Need Help With My Tank

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Palex, Apr 13, 2018.

1. P

Palex New Member Member

Hello. I'm Brand new to Fishlore and have questions (so many questions lol). Image a 10 gallon tank that was set up awhile ago. I foolishly took advice from a LFS employee who sold me a product to reduce waste (Waste Away). It killed my Khuli loach and Electric Blue Ram. My Beta is still alive. After that, I read that Waste Away raises the tank's ammonia and you don't realize it until it is too late. I then got 3 young Electric Blue Rams and moved the Beta to her own tank so the Rams could have their own space. Two of what I thought were male Rams laid eggs (ate them as I read they often do to their first spawn). I was told that I have been doing too many water changes and I accidently made my tank cycle again. During this cycle, my ammonia was pretty high and I did quite a few water changes, added bacteria (Dr. Tim's-I was told to do this), and added Sea Chem Prime. Finally got ammonia down but Nitrites are still high. Everyone I've asked tells me to add more Dr. Tims bacteria. Should I NOT do that? I have kept my water clean, not over stocked the tank, and added supplements. I have read SO much to try and become a responsible fish owner but it's overwhelming-I don't know how to learn if everyone tells me different things. This forum always seems very consistent . Should I keep using the Prime, and if so then how often? I'm getting a bigger tank this weekend in case new eggs are laid. Do you have any recommendations for what type of filter I should use? I appreciate your help in advance, please help protect my fish from their confused Mommy!

2. D

DutchAquarium Well Known Member Member