Need Help With My New Setup.... 29 Gallon Tank 

bdmetalmulisha

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hey everyone.
i just bought a 29 gallon tank and wish to have a FOWLR set-up eventually.

so basically i bought a tank and extras second hand and now im not to sure on how to set everything up.

First off with the tank came a Fluval 204 Canister filter, Red Sea Prizm Protein skimmer, Under gravel filter.
My questions are what would be the best one to install? and should i install more than one?
i was thinking install the Canister filter with biological and a mechanical filter and also the Protein skimmer.

The base i have is pebbles like the ones used in a gold fish tank. is this a suitable base for tropical fish or should i look at getting sand??

finally do i need an air pump to help circulate O2 into the tank?

i am new to this and have been researching but finding it confusing so a step by step guide on helping me how to set it up would be great.

i have fake coral at the moment but am thinking of getting live rock or an anemone to go with the fish.

Any Help would be greatly appreciated.
thanks Andrew

ATP

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hi there Andrew.

First of all, welcome to FL!

Alright now for the filtration, I would skip the Canister. Canister filters are hard and inconvinient to change. Canisters do a very good job at traping solid objects and filter the water through various parts (mechanichal and chemichal). In the Saltwater hobby, the traped solids will eventually release nitrates into the water. That is commonly called a nitrate factory. Canisters and other filters are usually not reccomended in this hobby because of that. Nitrates can result in algae growth, unhappy corals, and unhappy fish in severe cases. I would definetly use the protein skimmer