Need Help With Betta Beginner?

darrensmom
I am very new to the fish keeping hobby..all my years have been dogs and African Gray Parrots so without too much harsh criticism...I need someone help ASAP my betta needs help..is anyone up for a long conversation? He has so much wrong..

Advertisement
Smalltownfishfriend
Start talking!!!

Advertisement
LunaSky
Welcome to the forum. We’re all willing help.

darrensmom
Thank you because it's going to take a Village..there's so much I don't know where to start and it's very hard to type in tears so please excuse any typos...I guess I'll start at the beginning...

Discus-Tang
Welcome to Fishlore What's up with your betta?

Jellibeen
We all make mistakes, especially when new to the hobby. There are a lot of members here who would happily give you advice. remember that someone telling you that something is wrong, isn’t a personal attack or criticism.

Now, what's going on?

Advertisement

darrensmom
I have several goldfish rescues by that I mean beautiful fish that were laying on the tank dieing. 2 calico fantail and a black moor..I got some used tanks they let the water out infront of me and assured me they were cycled...no. My mistake...I had an extra 10 gallon that had been housing 2 of the goldfish and I've wanted a betta so long I bought 1 at Petco..he looked ill but I had saved the goldfish a couple goats countless dogs..so I brought him home. He had some fin rot so I checked the parameters..ammonia was very high so I immediately put him in a fishbowl and started aquarium salt treatment then he delivered swim bladder. His fin rot was getting worse but the swim bladder was getting better I was changing his water 4 times a day to keep it warm..but only adding the salt twice..plus an Indian almond leave..he seemed to get better...then I took a pic with my camera and the nightmare began. I'm going to try to explain what these symptoms are the best I can but there's so much I don't understand