Need Help with Balloon Mollies

Status
Not open for further replies.

sandeep537

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi Guys,

I am a beginner and have never had an aquarium before. Recently (about 6 weeks back) I purchased a new aquarium, 25 liters (6.6 Gallons). I’ve a water filter (sponge) and an air filter hooked up to the tank. I have about an inch of gravel at the bottom. I am sorry for not providing the waters details as I am not really sure where I can get the water tested for PH or other chemicals as it is pretty tough to find such places in India.

Along with the tank, I bought 8 balloon mollies, so far 6 have died and 2 of them are in sick bay. In the main tank, I now have 3 balloon mollies that I bought earlier today.

Since I have had the 8 fish, I have fed them regularly with fish flakes (twice a day) and have changed water every two / three weeks.

One of the sick fish just rests in the bottom of the sick bay tank does not move around much but I can see her gills moving and a long whitish / opaque thread kind of a thing sticking out of her. If I shake the tank a little then she swims around for may be 2 seconds then sinks to the bottom of the tank again. The other one, he just swims around in the tank but does not eat.

A molly died earlier today, her fins started to tear as if they had been shredded but the two sick fish do not have any fin tear signs.

I have added anti fungus and anti Ich medicines to both tanks. Dosage as recommended on the bottle (Medication name Dr Aqua Blue)

Guys I really want to save the last two fish that I have. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Sandeep

Jrobber

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm