Need help with a premature platy fry HELP NOW

fishbreeeder

Hi

This morning I woke up to see a few fry. Sadly I realized that there where only 2 and both where premature with big yolk sacs. One got eaten right then and I knew Ihad to try and save the last one. Now he is in the breeder tank with no gravel. Should I get first bites to feed him or can he eat crushed fish food? How can I help him live?

Thanks

Jerriel

fishbreeeder said:
Hi

This morning I woke up to see a few fry. Sadly I realized that there where only 2 and both where premature with big yolk sacs. One got eaten right then and I knew Ihad to try and save the last one. Now he is in the breeder tank with no gravel. Should I get first bites to feed him or can he eat crushed fish food? How can I help him live?

Thanks
if he still has his yolk sac and was just born today then wait 3 days till you feed it, I have raised many platy fry and although I'm no expert, I know some things. I would recommend getting the first bites and any small particle-like food you can feed it. I waited until they got a little bigger when feeding flakes with my fry because at a young age they didn't seem to care for it, then again my second batch immediately noticed the crushed flakes. If you're going to feed flakes make sure to crush them and feed small amounts, remove uneaten food. Do water changes every so often to make sure it grows big and healthy.

Apoorvthegreat

fishbreeeder said:
Hi

Thanks
Observe your platy fry. As soon as it uses up it's yolk sac, feed it. There's no saying when that'll happen, but it usually happens within 1-2 days. Do u know how long the mommy was pregnant?

fishbreeeder

Thanks.

Jerriel said: