Need Help With A 55 Gallon 55 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'Cichlids' started by Zeros, Apr 17, 2019.

1. ZerosNew MemberMember

I am buying a 55 gallon aquarium and it's coming with a Blue Johanni and a Livingston cichlid. I know the Livingston shouldn't really be in a 55 but that's beyond my control at the moment. I would like to turn this into an Mbuna tank. I've heard that keeping the tank overstocked helps with aggression but I do not want to add too many fish at once and overload the system. Any advice on what to do in this situation? How many Mbunas should I put in the tank? Any general advice is welcome since I am new to cichlids.

2. SomeoneFISHyValued MemberMember

Are you completely new to fish? If so, cichlids aren't the best route. But, since they are coming with the tank, it is best to leave them in. I'm not a cichlid expert, but they tend to be aggressive, or on that side. Stock the tank with a good selection of plants and driftwood, but don't make it an obstacle course. They need room to move around. Don't have new world and African cichlids in the same tank. For adding in fish, give the 2 a week in the tank. Monitor them, and the parameters. If they do well, then you can add in another fish (cichlids are big, so bigger fish=bigger bioload.) Repeat that process. If you like, add in plants in between that time.

3. MorosithValued MemberMember

I would try to get the livingstoni to your lfs.

In my opinion mbuna look and do best in species tank and a Johanna 55 gallon will look fantastic with yellows and blues. You’ll want a lot of rocks, try and make caves, hiding spaces, and territories.