Need Help/Suggestions for Stocking a 55G+ Aquarium

1. csutter1 Member Member

Hello!

I'm a new hobbyist and just joined the world of Fishlore! I have been wanting to start my own aquarium for quite some time now, but have resisted the urge due to my inexperience and lack of knowledge.
    I've finally taken the time to do a substantial amount of research however, and feel ready to start planning out my full first set-up. I've read all of the Welcome/Beginner sticky's on this forum and would now like some advice regarding what fish I should use to stock my aquarium.

I haven't purchased any equipment yet, as I'm the type of person who would rather be fully prepared and knowledgeable, as opposed to jumping into things blindly.

My hope is to purchase a 55-75 gallon tank with stand. I like the look of bow-front aquariums, but am open to any type. I'm not sure if the shape of the tank matters for specific fish, but I wanted to make sure I threw that bit of info in just in case.

After reading lots, I've found that before I make a decision on the type of filtration system I'll need, or pretty much any and all of the accessories for the tank, I need to know what type of fish I will be housing in the tank. So this is where any and all help/recommendations from you guys come in!
    I am looking at freshwater only fish and I REALLY, REALLY want to have fish that look very exotic. I love color, so if you can help me create a set-up that has quite a lot of color in it as well, that'd be great! Seeing as I'm a newbie, hardier fish, or fish that are easy/medium to keep would be prefered. I also would love to see a nice variation in fish size throughout the tank.
    My goal is to have a full stocking plan created before I start to purchase my needed equipment.

Any and all help you can offer will be GREATLY appreciated! I'm excited to kick off this hobby and look forward to your replies.

2. hollie1505 Well Known Member Member