Need Help On The Gender Of My Flowerhorn

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by core2zero, Apr 11, 2017.

1. core2zero

core2zero New Member Member

Hello! So i got this guy about a week ago on a local petshop. It was pale and it almost does not have any visible kok. I started taking care of it for awhile. Colors were a lot better and kok is pretty much visible. Then earlier this morning I saw a tube growing (or atleast what my eyes are telling me). Which in my knowledge, indicates that it is a FEMALE. So my questions are, is it a male or a female? Because as far as I've read, only males would have grown kok that fast considering the time that I've got him. And lastly, is it considered a female if the tube is visible? Oh and BTW it is only 1.5 inches. Which I think is pretty young for the tube to show up. I'm new in flowerhorn hobby. I've done my research before purchasing one. But this is beyond my knowledge. So I hope you guys can help me on this matter. Thank you so much in advance!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. KinsKicks

KinsKicks Fishlore VIP Member

Hello!

There is something you can try that seems to be proving to be quite accurate in sexing the flowerhorns. Forewarning, it is a bit hands-on. I'll add the link and quote the technique:

"hold the fish with your fingers so the belly part is facing away from your palm (meaning, the dorsal fin of the fish faces your palm). position your thumb on the belly of the fish near the vent and at the level of the plums. gently press the belly going to the direction of the vent. pressure should start from the area of the plums going to the ventral portion of the fish. if its a male, you will notice a squirt of clear liquid coming out of the vent. i would seem like a watergun squirt coming from the belly of the fish. females dont exhibit this phenomenon. there would be some fluid discharge but the flow would not be strong."

Hope this helps and best of luck!

3. OP
    OP
    core2zero