Need Help Chosing Lighting Fixture for Low Light Setup

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by FishyDMD, Nov 27, 2012.

1. FishyDMD

FishyDMD Valued Member Member

Hi everyone,

In another post (https://www.fishlore.com/fishforum/aquarium-plants/132359-low-light-plant-care.html) I learned that the plants in my 29g were not thriving due to a lack of sufficient light and possibly a lack of nutrients. As a beginner my goal with this tank is to keep only low light plants and not have to worry about adding CO2 or dosing liquid fertilizers. Right now all I have is anubias and I plan on adding java moss and java fern in the future. I have started dosing with LeafZone weekly with water changes as recommended by a member; however, I'm still having trouble coming up with a solution for proper lighting.

Right now I am running a single 18 watt daylight T8 bulb. I purchased a dual T5HO setup this weekend at the recommendation of my LFS but quickly found out that it was way too much light for a low tech setup. Luckily, the LFS will allow me to return T5 fixture, but I'm unsure what I will need to keep me in the low light range. There doesn't seem to be a lot of options for my tank between the single T8 and the dual T5HO. Here is what I have found online. Would either one be a good choice? Or should I just stick with the single T8 and hope for the best?

Single T5HO from Catalina:  

Aqueon Dual T5 (I'm assuming these are normal output):  

Thanks!

2. Matt B

Matt B Well Known Member Member

3. A

AlyeskaGirl Fishlore VIP Member

Not all T5HO fixtures have good quality ballasts. The Coralife T5HO duel fixture would put you in the low/moderate range for the height of your tank. It's not one of the good High output fixtures.

The Catalina is another good quality high output fixture.

If you picked up an Aquaticlife duel T5HO fixture that would give you too much light as its a good quality fixture. Each bulb has its own reflector which makes a difference.