Question Need Advice On Setup For Cory Cats

Status
Not open for further replies.

AliciaFL

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to the forum, so thanks in advance for your advice and guidance! I am a wildlife biologist, but I specialized in birds and am a total newbie when it comes to fish.

About 6 months ago, I inherited a with two fancy goldfish from the awful previous tenant of my apartment who literally just left them behind! I had a very traumatic experience with my adopted goldfish (Edamame and Nori). I take animal life very seriously and tried to get up to speed on goldfish care and I bought all the things I needed (water conditioner, good bacteria, test strips, etc.) and dutifully did the 30% water changes once a week, but about 4 months in, they both died in my care One got Ich, then the other did shortly after, and despite the treatment that the aquarist store nearby recommended, they both declined until they died. It was horrible.

It has now been two months since the goldfish died, and after a lot of research and searching, I have fallen in love with cory cats. I hear they are much better beginner fish, and I'm looking forward to doing things right this time. So I have a bunch of questions...

1. Is there still a risk of the ich being in the water and hurting the new fish? We've had the filter running for the last two months and have been doing partial water changes every two weeks.
2. I know that it's recommended to get 6 cories since they are a shoaling species, but will that be overcrowded for a 9 gallon tank?
3. What cory species should I look for (and which should I avoid) for a 9 gallon tank?
4. As far as habitat goes, right now I have small pebbles (which I will replace with soft substrate!), one Anubias plant, an agate geode, about 8 Marimo moss balls, and an air bubble aerator. Should I remove or add anything in particular to get ready for the cories? Do I need a tank heater?