Need Advice on Changing Filter w/o Losing Cycle or Harming Dwarf Shrimp

JesstheWanderer
So. I am new at this and ended up in the shrimp hobby organically and not completely by intention. BUT that is a long story. I like and am attached to them now. I now know what I need to do for a shrimp specific tank, when I have money for my birthday... for now, I have a 3.5 gallon tank that came with it’s on carbon filtration system. My shrimp are doing well. The tank is cycled... 0 ppm ammonia, 0ppm nitrites and Nitrates range from 0-10. The increase in nitrates from 5-10 occurred this week. In any case, I do weekly 10% water changes. I know they say not to run a carbon filter longer than a month. This one has been running for 2 months, and I have rinsed it in aquarium water when doing water changes at least twice...in the bucket of course. I don’t have the equipment to do anything complicated... when and how do I replace the filter w/o losing my bacteria or cycle. Thanks for your time and assistance.

Crimson_687
If you mean to replace the media, you do not ever need to do this unless the media is physically breaking apart. If you need to remove carbon there should be a way to open it, but if not, you can punch a small hole. If you do need to replace media, run old media with new media for a few weeks, or cut a small piece of old media to place alongside new media.

For replacing filters, run your replacement filter alongside your old one for a few weeks. If you cannot do this, then transfer all media from the old filter to the new filter

Nickguy5467