Need advice for 20 gallon tank!

katelynx

I’m new to having fish and I just wanted to ask for some opinions/ what you guys think would work best.
I’m getting a 20 gallon tank and these are the fish I am interested in getting:
Honey gourami

Green neon tetras

Julii corydoras

Guppies

How much should I get of each?

Would all of those work together?

From the research I’ve been doing the numbers I’ve come up with are:

1 honey gourami

6 green neon tetras

5 Julii corydoras

3 guppies

Does this sound right at all?

Less of any? More of any?

I just want to make sure I do everything properly and I can make their environment as healthy as possible!
Thank you!!

nj278

I have no experience with honey gourami, though I have heard that they do better in groups.

Would you get male guppies or females as well? There's always the problem (if you want to call it a problem) of fry if you get females, as they really do take over.

I love the sound of this tank though, the honey gourami and the corydoras especially. It sounds like you've thought this through and will have a very exciting tank with fish in all levels of the water.

ProudPapa

Hello, and welcome to the forum. Since you asked, here's my recommendation.
  • 3-5 honey gouramis, ideally with females outnumbering males. While they aren't shoaling fish, they are social, and do better in groups.
  • 8-10 green neon tetras
  • 6 Corydoras trilineatus. (They're what's commonly sold as julii corys, but really aren't)

katelynx

I have no experience with honey gourami, though I have heard that they do better in groups.

Would you get male guppies or females as well? There's always the problem (if you want to call it a problem) of fry if you get females, as they really do take over.

I love the sound of this tank though, the honey gourami and the corydoras especially. It sounds like you've thought this through and will have a very exciting tank with fish in all levels of the water.