Nano Saltwater Stocking/setup

goplecos

I have had some experience with saltwater, since I was the only one taking care of the the 75 gallon reef in my botany class (even in the summer, and after I finished the class as well), so I know the basic care that goes into it. But that's about it. I am clueless about stocking and half the setup.

Setup: I only have room for a 5 gallon, unfortunately. I already know most of the equipment needed for a tank, but I have 3 questions.

1. I can get a sponge filter at my LFS for less than 5 dollars, and I already have an air pump , so I was wondering if I could use this instead of a powerhead, since most of the effective ones cost 20+ dollars. I know Saltwater tank need to be aerated but I don't know if a sponge filter will be enough.

2. Everywhere says that I need to use RO water I just got my cities water quality report and we have great water. RO removes 90-99% of impurities in the water, but based on my water quality report we have close to zero on everything except chlorine. If I use a dechlorinator on my water is RO really necessary, since I don't want to spend 50 dollars on something I don't really need.

3. I know you're not supposed to use Play Sand for Saltwater tanks, but can you use sand for Freshwater tanks. My friend gave me a ton and I would like to know if it is safe.

Stocking: I only have decided I wanted a FOWLR tank, but I would like to have livestock that are reef compatible if I decide to add coral later. I did a lot of research on all of these but I can't find any good info that is widely agreed. The inverts were relatively easy though.

Firefish Goby (tank size ranged from 3-30 gallons, are they shrimp safe)
Royal Gramma Basslet (should they be kept in schools or alone, tank size ranges for 5-30 gallons, are they shrimp safe)
Blue/Green Chromis (should they be kept in schools or alone, tank sizes range from 5-30 gallons, are they shrimp safe)