Mystery Snail Deterioration On Old Shell Growth

Kenzie Corson

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I've been a lurker on here for the last few months after having fully cycled my mystery snail tank, and both of our little buddies have settled in great! Unfortunately however, Mr. Gary has been having some shell deterioration on his old shell growth (picture below for reference) and I'm not quite sure why.

The tank is fully cycled and we have eggshells in a media bag in the filter and two pieces of cuttlebone in the tank to give them more calcium. They live on a diet of kale, spinach, zucchini, broccoli, algae pellets on occasion. I have an API MAster test kit to test pH, ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates, but do not yet have a kit to test gH and kH. Is it possible that a problem with gH or kH could be causing the deterioration? Both of the snails have almost doubled since we brought them home in mid-February, and their new shell growth is looking great, but I'm very concerned about the old shell growth.

One last possibility I've considered is the algae on their shells could be causing the deterioration, as the other snail (Leonard) has turned from brown and gold stripes to a light blue colour where the algae has come off.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Tank specs.
Ammonia- 0
Nitrite- 0
Nitrate- 20
pH- 7.6
gH & kH- unknown (will be buying the API Master kit with tests for these asap)

Snailwhisperer

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I read that acidic water can cause shell deterioration. Also, lack of calcium can cause week shells. Finally, I read that once a shell is damaged there is no way to repair it. So, working on the water quality will help new growth.

Bithimala

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
3 years